Car Seat/Booster Seats

Summary of Car Seat/Booster Seat Laws in Maine:

  1. Children under 2 years of age MUST ride rear facing. Best practice is for a child to remain in a rear facing car seat until they reach the maximum weight or height allowed by the manufacturer of their car seat.
  2. Children over 2 years of age weighing under 55 lbs MUST ride in a car seat with a full 5-point harness system. Best practice is to remain in a full harness system until they reach the maximum weight or height allowed by the manufacturer of their car seat.
  3. Children less than 8 years of age who weigh more than 55 pounds MUST ride in either a car seat (in accordance with the maximum weight or height as allowed by the manufacturer) or a booster seat.
  4. Children must use a booster seat until they are 8 years old, weigh more than 80 pounds or are greater than 57 inches (4 feet,9 inches) tall.  All 3 criteria must be met to ride in a car without a booster seat. Medical professionals advice to meet all of those.
  5. For a seat belt to fit properly the lap belt must lie snugly across the upper thighs, not the stomach. The shoulder belt should lie snug across the shoulder and chest and not cross the neck or face.
  6. For all car seats and booster seats, parents MUST follow the manufacturer’s instructions for height and weight limits and seat positions.
  7. Children under 12 may not ride in the front seat of a car.

Best practice is that children ride in the back seat until age 13.

  1. Never combine installation methods, use seatbelts or LATCH (lower anchor) but never both together. The tether should always be used in addition to the seatbelt or lower anchor.
  2. Infants and Children should NEVER wear a bulky winter coat when strapped into a car seat.  In the event of a crash if they are wearing a bulky coat the harness can loosen and they can be ejected out of the seat.  The coat can be placed over them after being strapped in or they can be covered with a blanket.

Penalties for Violating Car Seat Laws in Maine

Securing a child under two years of age in anything other than a rear-facing car seat is against the law in Maine. A violation is considered a traffic infraction and is subject to a $50 fine. The fine increases to $125 for a second offense and $250 for a third or subsequent offense.

Securing a child under fifty-five pounds in anything other than a child restraint system with an internal harness is also against the law.

A violation is considered a traffic infraction that carries the same penalties listed above. 

Allowing a child under eight years old, 80 pounds, and 57 inches tall to ride without a booster seat is also an infraction that carries the same monetary penalties.

Car Seat Installation

  1. Read the manufacturer's instructions for your car seat.
  2. Face the child safety seat in the proper direction.
    • Infant seats always face backwards. Baby rides in a semi-reclining position facing the rear of the car.
    • Convertible seats face backwards in a semi-reclining position for children. By law, caregivers must follow the car seat manufacturer's weight and height requirements before turning a child forward facing. Recommended best practice, for greater safety, has children riding rear facing as long as the car seat parameters allow.

NOTE: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) both recommend keeping kids rear facing to at least 2 years of age or the maximum weight the seat will go rear facing.

  1. Secure your child snugly in the car seat.
    • Always buckle the seat's harness system securely to hold your child safely in the seat.
    • The harness strap must be snug, with no excess to pinch the harness strap at the child's collarbone.
  2. Secure the child safety seat with a seat belt system OR LATCH.
    • Anchoring the seat properly is critical. A seat that is not secured properly to the car can tip over, slide sideways or, in a crash, be ejected from the car.
    • The seat belt or lower anchors should be tightened so that the restraint moves less than an inch side to side or front to back at the belt path.

USEFUL LINKS:

https://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/29-a/title29-Asec2081.html

https://www.maine.gov/dps/bhs/safety-programs/child-passenger-safety

https://www.nhtsa.gov/equipment/car-seats-and-booster-seats

https://bangordailynews.com/2019/09/06/news/maines-car-seat-laws-are-changing-heres-what-parents-need-to-know/

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/bills/getPDF.asp?paper=SP0389&item=3&snum=129

Useful link explaining how rear facing infant car seats tip up on the front edge even when installed correctly. READ YOUR INSTRUCTION manual very carefully when installing car seats!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B4oKZcSQY3g